I. Introduction

1. Department History

National Taiwan University, formerly known as Taipei Imperial University during the Japanese colonial era, was founded in 1945 after the island's sovereignty had been transferred to the Republic of China government. The Department of Political Science was established two years later in 1947 under the supervision of the Faculty of Law. In 1963, the department underwent its first departmental reform—dividing itself into three sub-divisions: Political Theory, International Relations, and Public Administration. Each of the sub-divisions recruited students separately, and over five thousand students have received their degrees from the department up to now. In February of 1957, the Department of Political Science expanded once again—adding a graduate program offering master's degrees in Political Theory and International Relations. In 1976, nineteen years after the second departmental reform, the department created a doctoral program, accepting students who are keen to pursue an academic career in political science. In 2001, the department established a program granting an Executive Masters of Public Administration. Its aim is to give high-level professionals in the public and private sectors an opportunity to further their academic pursuits, and to promote linkages between theory and practice.

2. Department Structure

The undergraduate program, divided into three sub-divisions, Political Theory, International Relations and Public Administration, nowadays offers a great variety of courses. Students are encouraged to enroll in any course of interest from a vast array of classes from all departments. However, the department does require its students to complete mandatory courses. This policy is tailor-made in accordance with course-requirements stipulated by the Ministry of Education (varying from one sub-division to another). Course designs for each sub-division are carefully planned to prepare undergraduates either for future academic studies or for their future professional needs.

The master's program, on the other hand, aims to develop professionals in the academic field of political science. Similar to the undergraduate program, the master's program is divided into two subdivisions: Political Theory and International Relations. Each recruits students individually.

The doctoral program is not divided into sub-divisions since the number of students is small. Doctoral students are encouraged to focus on research in their respective fields of interest, to select courses related to professional needs, and, not least of all, to produce high caliber academic work.